About the Student Paper Prize

The EASIAM (East Asia section of SIAM) Student Paper Prizes are awarded every year to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the EASIAM Student Paper Prize competition. This prize is solely based on the merit and content of the student's contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in applied mathematics or scientific computing. Each recipient of the EASIAM Student Paper Prize shall receive a framed certificate and a cash prize of US$ 300. Up to three awards will be bestowed.


The contestant must be a current Ph.D. student or a recent Ph.D graduate (within one year of her/his thesis defense on the application deadline) in universities of East or Southeast Asia.


To enter the competition, each applicant must submit (1) a short vitae including her/his list of publications and (2) the complete paper. In addition, the student's advisor must submit a letter that describes and evaluates the paper's contribution to the literature and the student's role in the publication.

Notification of Prize Winners

The EASIAM President will notify candidates who have been shortlisted for the award by April 15, 2012. To receive the prize, each candidate is required to present her/his paper at EASIAM 2012, which will be held this June by the Department of Mathematics, National Taiwan University.


Deadline of the submission is February 15, 2012. Please send your submission via Email to Secretary of EASIAM, Professor Shao-Liang Zhang (zhang@na.cse.nagoya-u.ac.jp). For more information, please visit http://www.math.ntu.edu.tw/~easiam2012

Previous Prize Recipients

1st Prize: Yongyong Cai (National University of Singapore)
2nd Prize: Lei Du (Nagoya University)
2nd Prize: Chiun-Chang Lee (National Taiwan University)
3rd Prize: Akitoshi Takayasu (Waseda University)

1st Prize: Kensuke Aishima (University of Tokyo)
2nd Prize: Zuliang Lu (Xiangtan University)
3rd Prize: Tomoyuki Miyaji (Kyoto University)

1st Prize: Yucheng Hu (Peking University)
1st Prize: Hyoseop Lee (Seoul National University)
2nd Prize: Takeshi Fukaya (Nagoya University)
2nd Prize: Hengki Tasman (Institute of Technology Bandung)

1st Prize: Takehiko Kinoshita (Kyushu University)
1st Prize: Takafumi Miyata (Nagoya University)
2nd Prize: Ho-Seok Lee (KAIST)
2nd Prize: Byung Hwa Lim (KAIST)
2nd Prize: Naoya Yamanaka (Waseda University)
3rd Prize: Ying Ying Zhang (University of Macau)

1st Prize: Shipeng Mao (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
2nd Prize: Yumei Huang (Hong Kong Baptist University)
3rd Prize: Chien-Hong Cho (Kyoto University)
3rd Prize: Alexander Shapeev (National University of Singapore)